bonnieylau

Almost the beginning of a new chapter.

In Uncategorized on August 21, 2010 at 6:01 pm

The school year is about to start (It’s almost Sept).

Thing are going to get hectic (especially with GLOBE around the corner).

Everyone is going to be so busy, but there are a couple goals that I want to set for myself for this coming year, so that I won’t drive myself crazy!

1)      Read 1 book (not school related) once a week

2)      Exercise 3 times a week

3)      Promise to eat healthy (and this does include junk food. Yes, eating junk food, actually helps you eat healthy)

4)      Pick my battles (don’t get side-tracked by unnecessary disputes

5)      Do one good deed every week

6)      Stay in on Sundays (to spend with the family) because they are a priority

As we’re getting close to the end of August, I’ve been reading a lot. Ever since I’ve been back, I have made some fundamental changes to what I do and how I act. First, just a minor change, I limit my showers each day to 5 minutes each (I’m accustomed to this more and more now). I bought a reusable mug, and so, whenever I go buy tea, and coffee, not only do I save the use of a paper/cardboard cup, but I also save .25$ each time I use the cup, and after some calculations, I only need to use the cup 20 times to make back my initial return! I’ve also started to get back into reading a lot more. I guess it’s because of the emphasis people place on education in developing countries, that the only thing I know I can do is take full advantage of how privileged I am to live in such a prosperous society. I also started buying books online now (saves me $$ and paper, although a counter argument could be made that it uses electricity and… ). I’ve also made a commitment to myself to watch BBC News at least once a day—a habit I picked up in Bangladesh. Also, I used to get excited to go shopping, and to a certain extend I still do, but it’s different now. Every time I want to purchase something, I just, something happens, and then I end up not purchasing it. Or if I do purchase it, I end up returning it, which defeats the purpose of purchasing in the first place! For example, the other day, I went Downtown to Urban Outfitters and bought a dress, only to find myself returning it a few days after!!! Strange isn’t it?

I really hope that I can continue on this road and keep all the changes I have made in my life, during the school year. Speaking of which, I am extremely excited for school to start. I am ready to be challenged, and to open my mind. I want to be wrong, and to learn from it. I am particularly excited about Social Enterpreneurship and Post Communist Transformations (York Course)! I have heard so many good things about Social Enterpreneurship and I just can’t wait to be in that class (although it is 8:30am on Mondays)

Anyhow, I’m going to go back to reading now; a book that was actually recommended to me by Professor Woof.

Cheers for now,

-Bonbon

  1. one book a week! that is a lot. I bearly did that during the summer but I shall join in but with one book a month! lol….Let the good times roll 🙂

Leave a Reply

