bonnieylau

the effects of pressure.

In just the little things that make it all worthwhile. on June 2, 2010 at 11:55 pm

I’ve been thinking lately, especially working with the youth, its made me think a lot about the pressures there are at school and what we are teaching our children and the next generation.

I see the media and institutions breeding on the fact that people are insecure. As a matter of fact, all our outter things, materialistic things, our wants and desires, i feel, are a result of our insecurities. The way we talk, dress, slang that we use, all of that, is the same as everyone else and we choose to talk like everyone else because we are insecure.

Don’t get me wrong. I am guilty of all of the above. I constantly see myself wanting certain things, or even putting on makeup for example, to feel better about myself. But why? I should be confident in myself, or MORE confident in myself, shouldn’t i?

Institutions tell us constantly, how to dress and how to act; we listen, because I think we are insecure, which is fine (it is human nature after all), but the fact that many institutions are using our insecurities and molding us into robots and individuals with a skewed view of what the world is, is very scary. Some have the courage to fight back, some don’t. The question is, who will initiate then? And will they listen?

It’s important to become aware of why you do the things you do. I mean, I know i do certain things out of influence out of the media. Sometimes this awareness stops me from making certain decisions, and sometimes it doesn’t. But the important thing is, to be able to recognize it.

Just remember, don’t let a trend, a style, the way you look, the school you go to and your job DEFINE who you are. On the contrary, you should define a trend, the way you look, stand and represent the school and the job you work.

Leave a Reply

